A new city, a new job, a new me?

**I decided to stick to this blog, starting a new blog just seemed like too much work. I’ll still be posting protected posts on my more private thoughts**

Not my neighborhood--but a few typical San Fran houses!

I did it, I moved to San Francisco. Two times zones and 2,906 miles away from the place I’m lived my entire life. I got here Friday afternoon and I’ve been pretty busy ever since. A friend of a friend has been taking me around, getting me acquainted with the city and introducing me to his friends and I am very, very grateful to him for that. My three roommates have also been very sweet, giving me pillows, a mirrors and anything else I need–all I brought was a comforter, one bedsheet, clothes, shoes, bags and makeup! I’m sleeping on couch futon until I get a bed.

I really like the area my apartment is–Inner Richmond. It’s on a busy street filled with restaurants, groceries, nail salons, hair salons, cafe’s–you name it. Clement street is known as the second unofficial Chinatown in San Francisco and everything is very accessible including several bus lines. It takes me approximately 25-30 minutes to get to my job, which seems like a pretty sweet deal to me. I’ve thought about moving more centrally, like Nob Hill or Russian Hill, which will be walking distance to my job in the Financial District, but I think I like where I am. The Golden Gate Park and the Bridge are very close and it has a cute neighborhoody feel, sort of like Queens. The daily dosage of green, my super-friendly roommates and a walk-in closet are all worth the 30 minute commute!

Today was day two of my new job and so far, so good. I’m still unbelievably thankful that I landed a job at one of my dream organizations in a really progressive role. It feels a little weird getting up and getting dressed in a new room, getting on a bus to go to work and not the subway, but I also feel really giddy about it. It still feels like I’m still on vacation, I can’t wait to decorate my bedroom and my work cubicle and make it feel like home!

5 thoughts on “A new city, a new job, a new me?

  1. hey enjoy San Fran!! you did what a lot of people don’t have the guts to do! Congrats on the great opportunity you got and keep writing about your experiences there.

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m so jealous of your move! I’ve never even been to CA 😦 I think I’m definitely a Northeast gal though (but who knows…grew up in the Midwest, then moved to the South and ended up in the NE!)

  3. Congrats, sunehra! One of my BD friends got a great job and moved to San Fran 2 yrs ago (also from Queens). It was also her 1st time away from family. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

