Back to my roots

Sunehra: golden or beautiful.

Sunehra was the name of a little girl I met when I was in high school. She was one of the most adorable kids I’ve ever met, with one of the most beautiful names I’ve ever heard. I’ve always hated my name (Jennifer is so bland and boring; my parents could’ve given me an exotic Muslim name) so unusual names catch my attention.

In Urdu and Hindi, it means beautiful and this sort of became my pseudonym. I used it to blog on xanga as ‘Sunehra’ for over two years. I’ve changed my blog name on WordPress a few times, never really sticking to anything. I worried about coming up with something familiar, cute and clever. But, I couldn’t find anything better than Sunehra to stick to because it has become a part of my identity.

After all, I am naming my first daughter (whenever that happens), Sunehra, and who could be a better muse?

I’ve also decided to take this blog in a slightly different direction. As ‘The Writer Wife’, I wrote mostly about my struggles as a writer/editor and about my relationship, but I also want to write about all the other things that interest me; Bollywood, fashion, South Asian culture and other random tidbits. I also want to be more consistent about blogging because I’ve found it’s the best way to hone my writing skills, which need a lot of work.

I am also going to attempt at giving this blog a visual makeover. So, if you see any weird things going on, please forgive our appearance!

And, oh yeah, stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

