Moving up the pay scale

I’ve just gotten my first assignment for a magazine at $.50 a word and boy, am I excited! 

I’ve been writing for really low pay until now. A national magazine website pays me $50 per article but I did it to enhance my portfolio. So, $.50 per word for a 1500-2000 word article sounds like heaven to me right about now!

I’ve been pitching higher paying magazines for a while now, without getting any responses. The two national magazines that did take my pitches were through editors that I’ve networked with in the past. I still want to have faith in cold e-mailing and blind pitching but I haven’t had much success with these methods so far. 

How long did it take most of you to move up the pay scale?

2 thoughts on “Moving up the pay scale

Leave a Reply

