Waiting is the hardest part

I know all the rules. I know editors get a million emails a day, a lot of which are queries. I also editors tend to go with writers they already know. But, out of all the pitches I’ve sent out recently and all the times I’ve followed up, how hard is it for even one editor to say a simple no to my query? Now, I’m not sure if I should already pitch the stories elsewhere or just wait. One of them is a very timely piece so that makes me more restless!

The only success I’ve had are with two editors I already know. No one else has responded to me. I know I’m a new writer and that I just have to keep trying but it makes me nervous that perhaps my ideas aren’t as good as I think they are or that my pitch letters suck.

How many letters did you send out before you got an assignment?

2 thoughts on “Waiting is the hardest part

  1. I don’t query much. In fact, the only times I remember querying are when a place asks me to write for them but needs me to come up with the articles. I also have spent most of my time as a freelancer so far finding the gigs that tell me what to write.

    So those factors skew my answer big time. If you want to count, “How many job postings did you respond to before you got a gig?” it was a lot.

    Per your blog, I like your writing. Granted, you need to be careful about the missing words–your third sentence is missing a “know,” for instance–but I know how easy it can be to accidentally misplace words when you’re jumping around the screen.

    -Misti

    P.S. If you don’t have time to wait before proofreading something, the reading aloud tip works best for me, but if you’re also a bit shaky in your grammar skills, you may want to use the read backwards method, too.

    I found your blog from Jennifer’s comment on the article I wrote on paraphrasing over on Freelance Switch.

Leave a Reply

