Happy Turkey Day!

bethankfulcarvedpumpkinwhite

I come from a more roast chicken type of family myself, but my favorite part of Thanksgiving dinner are all the sides; mashed potatoes, green been casserole, baked macaroni and cheese, biscuits, mixed pasta, pumpkin pie–yum!

This is the last Thanksgiving I will be spending with my mom and sis while I still live in New York. I am trying my best to do everything to make my mother happy in the last 7-8 months before I get married and haul my butt to Atlanta. She has been through a lot in life. I spent yesterday night in the emergency room with her. She got scared because of some chest pain she had the whole day and they ran a series of tests on her. The doctors say she is fine but my mother has had high blood pressure since her late 20’s plus heart disease runs in her family, so any little thing scares her. As we were on the way to to the hospital, her eyes welled up with tears;

“Take care of your sister if anything happens to me. Make sure she finishes college.”

“Mom, stop acting like a big baby. You’re fine. You’re only 45!”, I was glad I was wearing my thick-rimmed glasses so she wouldn’t see me slightly choke up.

Turns out she is fine and is just stressing about my wedding. As much as I fight with her, I am the most thankful for her in my life, because I would be nowhere without her. My mother is an extraordinary woman with an extraordinary story. Here’s what else I’m thankful for this year:

– That my motheraccepted D. as her son-in-law and has put all bitter feelings aside.

– That I’m getting my dream wedding without asking for it.

-That I realized who my true friends are.

– That I have a sister close in age that I can play and fight with.

– That I have the ability to nurture a gift; my writing.

– That my first full-fledged pitch was accepted!

– That I have just finished drawing up my second pitch and am halfway done with my third!

– That I will soon be starting a new life with the type of man I’ve always wanted to be with.

What are you all thankful for?

Leave a Reply

