Pitching during the holiday season?

I’ve been making some serious moves in the freelancing department. My blog pitch to the bridal website got accepted! They’re offering me less than I expected, but it’s a good way to fully start my freelance writing. I’m also talking to a publisher in Atlanta who is starting a new fashion magazine next year. She has hired me for the web editor position and both the website and magazine should launch early next year. The best part is that I can work from home from New York now and by the time I get to Atlanta, there should be an office fully functioning. It’s the ideal situation! Again, I’m a little wary since it is a start-up but it’s a freelance assignment so if it ends up fluking out, I won’t be losing much. But, I really hope it goes well!

I also have two other pitches half drawn up and a slew of stories that I’ve done the research for. I’m hoping to finish the pitches for two of the stories by tomorrow, but I’m wondering if it’s worth sending this out during the holiday season? Editors will be in and out of vacation and I am afraid of my emails getting lost. Neither of my ideas are ‘timely’, per say, so I might be able to wait on them.

What do you suggest I do, fellow writers and editors? Wait to pitch after the holiday season is over or just send it along anyway?

Leave a Reply

