Obama Obama!

8 years of Bush-dom has come to an end and so has my insomnia.

For the past few years, I’ve had a great deal of trouble sleeping. I used to be able to sleep through anything. You had to work real hard to try to wake up. But, in the last 4-5 years, all that changed. I get up several times in the middle of the night now and even when I’m asleep, I can still feel all the energies around me.

Last night, I plomped into bed and was gone–immediately. It’s not like I was extremely tired. I have been on ‘vacay’ for a week now, after moving to Atlanta. I’m enjoying all the benefits of being a housewife. Peace and quiet during the day, free to do whatever I want until the husband rolls into the house. Since D. is significantly neat (more so than me), cleaning is not an issue. I also cook when I feel like it because he is an excellent cook and we usually have plenty of leftovers. I know, I got extremely lucky.

Like the rest of America, this election was the most important one in my life so far. I remember Clinton getting elected twice and Bush. And while Bush’s re-election condemned my career and bank accounts, Obama’s campaign came at a time when I really needed hope. I’m newly married, 2 years out of college and looking for a job. I hope to buy my very first house and car in the next three years, my husband’s small business is struggling and I’m trying to find a nonexistent job in an unrelentless market. Not just any job, mind you. A job in an already-struggling market, made worse by the recent financial crisis.

Obama gives me faith that all my newly-formed dreams can be lived out, with or without his help.

Here’s to a new era-for America and myself!

One thought on “Obama Obama!

Leave a Reply

